Ellen Garshick is the program analyst for the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. She has served on the Baldrige staff since 2007, leading projects such as Baldrige Criteria revision, research on program-related issues, and the writing and production of numerous program publications. She has worked in a range of Baldrige Program activities, including serving as a monitor and technical editor for the Baldrige Award process. Her pre-Baldrige background includes 20 years of experience writing, editing, and producing all kinds of publications and 8 years as a teacher of English and academic skills to speakers of other languages.

Dr. Harry Hertz has had extensive experience in analyzing organizational performance and strategy. He has been responsible for interpreting “the leading edge of validated management practice” from 1995-2013 as the Director, and since 2013 as Director Emeritus, of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. For that period he was the primary architect and author of the evolving Criteria for Performance Excellence. He has overseen and been involved in analyzing more than 1,000 organizations from business, education, health care, and the nonprofit sectors. He currently serves as co-facilitator of the Baldrige Executive Fellows Program, a year-long executive development program for C-suite executives. In 2013, the Harry S. Hertz Leadership Award was created in his honor by the Foundation for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award to recognize individuals for outstanding leadership attributes and performance

Brian Lassiter has been president of the Performance Excellence Network (formerly Minnesota Council for Quality) since 2001. Previously, he was managing director for Ian Alliott Consulting, principal consultant for Norstan Consulting, corporate quality consultant for the St. Paul Companies, consultant for Price Waterhouse, and quality manager for Boatmen’s National Bank. In these roles, Lassiter has worked with dozens of organizations in a variety of industries to help them improve their performance and competitiveness.

From 1998 to 2012, Lassiter served on the board of examiners for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. He has also served as a senior evaluator for the Minnesota Quality Award, as a judge for the Veteran’s Administration Baldrige-based Carey Award, a judge for the Baldrige-based American Health Care Association (long-term care) quality awards, and as a member of the board of directors for Goodwill/Easter Seals of Minnesota. He is chair of the board of directors of the Alliance for Performance Excellence, the national consortium of all state and local quality awards, and is also chair of Benedictine Health System, a long-term care system based in Duluth, Minn.

Sandra Potthoff PhD is Professor and Department Head in the Department of Health Policy and Management at the University of South Florida in Tampa. She earned her undergraduate degree in Social Work, and her Master’s and PhD degrees in Industrial Engineering, specializing in health systems, from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Dr. Potthoff’s research expertise is in operational analytics and modeling for systems improvement and effectiveness in healthcare delivery. In addition, she has studied the impact of home telemedicine for the elderly, and has conducted program evaluation of youth development programs. She teaches in the areas of data analytics and operations research in health care, problem solving in health service organizations, information uses in long-term care, and interprofessional teamwork in health care. She was Associate Professor at the University of Minnesota’s School of Public Health, Division of Health Policy and Management and the former director of the Master of Healthcare Administration Program at the University of Minnesota, a past board member of the Association of University Programs in Health Administration, and a past board member, vice president, and president of the Health Applications Section of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences.