Skip to main content

Board of Directors

Darin Atteberry, ICMA-CM/AICP

Darin Atteberry is the City Manager for the City of   Fort Collins, Colorado, a position he has held since December 2004. Prior to that, Darin served as the Assistant City Manager for more than 8 years.

As City Manager, Darin has led the City government through a time of transformational change, moving the organization from a "trust us" model to one that uses a data-driven, performance based approach. Darin is an advocate for community collaboration and has built strong relationships with both public and private sector partners. He serves as a member on the Board of Directors for Transforming Local Governments’ Alliance for Innovation and for the Center for Public Safety Excellence.  In 2013, Darin was named Entrepreneur of the Year by the Everitt Real Estate Center and the CSU College of Business for his work in attracting and retaining businesses in Fort Collins.  In 2016 he was elected as a Fellow with the National Academy of Public Administration, chartered by Congress to serve federal, state, and local governments.  Also in 2016, Darin received the Colorado Governor’s Citizenship medal in the category of Public and Community Service, recognizing him as a leader who serves the public with innovation, operational excellence and progressive vision.

Prior to coming to Fort Collins, Darin worked with cities in California, Washington, and Georgia. He attended Harvard University in 2000, completing the Senior Executive Program in State and Local Government.  He received his Master of Science in Civil Engineering and Master of City Planning at Georgia Institute of Technology in 1991.  In 1989, he received a Bachelor of Science from California Polytechnic State University.

Darin, his wife, Deborah, and their four children enjoy living in Fort Collins and are active in several community and school activities.